2013 on Is That You Darling

I’m pleased that 2013 is making way for 2014. As someone who much prefers even numbers to odd, fourteen is obviously going to appeal to me more than thirteen. It just sounds nicer, don’t you think?

Anyway, now that we’ve got a little bit of my crazy out of the way, I thought I’d round up how I think things are faring here at Is That You Darling. Even now, after I’ve been blogging in one way or another for around ten years, I still often think I’m finding my feet. The big, wide world of blogging feels as though it is always changing, and I sometimes wonder if I really want to change with it, or if I want to just ignore everyone else and do my own thing.

I think I’ve reached the point where I have decided to straddle the two worlds. I want to be part of the blogging community and take advantage of all the benefits and perks that being a blogger can involve. But I also want to make my blog an extension of me, and that means not taking every opportunity just because it presents itself. I want to use my blog as a means to write; as I’ve mentioned before, this is the sole reason I starting blogging, and I want to remain true to that.

With that in mind, I’ve been avoiding studying my stats in the way that I have in the past. I still keep an eye on them, but I don’t worry about them. I had my best ever month in November, thanks in no small part to Blog Every Day in November, but it doesn’t matter to me that I won’t improve upon it in December.

But today, I thought I’d share with you my top five posts from 2013.

Bionsen Deodorant Review was my most read 2013 post of the year. It doesn’t surprise me that a review got the top spot; this is the kind of thing that people search for online, after all.

31 Before 31 ~ Complete a Cross Stitch was also popular, and that’s because a lot of people search for Lord of the Rings cross stitch patterns! The one I used was by PixelPower Designs, and can be found here, if you’re interested.

Happy Birthday Crafty Creatives was the third most popular 2013 post. I still haven’t got around to making anything out of the kit, because I’m totally rubbish, but I have big crafty plans for 2014!

Essex Bloggers Unite was another much-read post. Since that first meet in February, I’ve seen the Essex Bloggers gang twice more, and I know there are more planned for the coming year. (This has also reminded me that I still haven’t written about our December meet!)

Dial G for GlassesDial G for Glasses was one of my favourite posts to write, so I’m pleased it was one of the most popular this year. I spend a lot of time lusting over glasses I see on people!

Hair Week ~ Area H2O Shampoo and Conditioner Review was the fifth most popular 2013 post this year. Another review makes it into the top five! I had a lot of fun with Hair Week earlier this year, so I’m planning another one soon.

All that remains to be said is thank you to everyone who reads my blog, and especially to those of you who take the time to comment and keep up with my posts. I have found some really lovely people thanks to my blog, and I think that’s one of the most gratifying things about being a blogger!

Leave a comment